top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlanoud Alhammadi

How to get out of a reading slump.









When you are a passionate reader and suddenly find your self in a reading slump, it may be a little awkward to you. It's not you no longer want to read- it's when you don't find your self motivated to pick up a book and dive into it. Before Covid, when I was going to school I was used to always spend the time reading on the way, but since the lockdown I kind of lost my interest to dedicate time for reading.


“The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.”

– Jane Austen

I'm not going to say that I'm completely over my reading slump, but I'll share some tips that helped me to start getting back to reading.


1- Don't set unrealistic goals: reading a chapter before bed can be a great achievement by the end of the week, or reading 50 pages in the morning means you read 350 pages in a week which may be a whole book.


2- Read what interest you: try to avoid choosing too long books and novels at the beginning, since finishing a book can push you back into reading more and more.


3- Reread your favorite book: I'm not a fan of re-reading the same books over and over but reading a book you personally like can bring you back the joy of living between the pages of a book.


4- Goin a reading group: ask your friends and family to read the same book and discuss it with them, this will motivate you to read more as it will give you the chance to share your thoughts about your favorite character and events.


If you are in a reading slump, I hope you got inspired by this tips and you already grabbed a book by now. If you have any more tips, feel free to share them in the comments! I'm sure other readers appreciate your tips as well as I do.



2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page